Russell Banks

Russell Banks is the award-winning author of fifteen works of fiction, ten novels and five collections of stories. His titles include The Book of Jamaica, Continental Drift, Rule of the Bone, Affliction, The Sweet Hereafter, Cloudsplitter and The Darling. Two of his novles, Affliction and The Sweet Hereafter, have been made into critically-acclaimed films. The Sweet Hereafter, directed by Atom Egoyan and released in 1997, was winner of the Grand Prix award at the Cannes Film Festival, and drew Academy Award Nominations for Best Director and Best Screenplay Adaptation. Affliction, directed by Paul Achrader and released the following year, earned an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor (James Coburn) and a Nomination for Best Actor (Nick Nolte). Currently Rule of the Bone, Continental Drift and The Book of Jamaica are being adapted to film, with Banks working on the screenplay for Rule of the Bone and Drift.